Connect with us


McAlester Pom are Champions Again! – Presented by Kennedy Eye Care

The tradition of success achieved by the McAlester Pom and Dance team is unmatched. Since their initial appearance at the Oklahoma State Dance Team Director’s Association state competition in 1998, the hard working program has won a combined total of 20 championship titles including their latest accomplishments by winning the 2021 Class 5A Game Day and 5A Pom state championships as well as the runner-up award in Class 5A large hip-hop competition.

Unlike head to head sporting events where teams get to grow and adjust every week game after game, dance team competitions are few and far between, without opportunity to “out score” opponents before State competition. Dances are scored based on different areas of the routine: choreography, execution and technique. 

Technique is the most objective category, where the judges’ score is based on exhibition of training in ballet and jazz techniques, flexibility and control. Execution is based on how well the team moves together; how much a team practices together makes a difference in this category.

“The three weeks prior to our state competition, our team showed up to practice at 6:30am everyday. This is 30 minutes earlier than our regular practice time and gave us almost a full 2 hour practice everyday,” explained coach Maggie Meadows. “This team is dedicated their efforts to themselves, their teammates, and their coaches.”

With leadership of five seniors setting the standard, the Buffaloes worked hard and never gave up on achieving on their gold medal goals after not getting to attend an “in person” competition last year.

Team members include seniors Abbi Cecil, captain and 2021 OSDTDA All-State dance team member, Payden Morgan, Kylie Martin a 2021 OSDTDA All-Region dance team choice, Emilee Coxsey and Makayla Oxford. Other members include junior Gracie McMahan, sophomores Alyson Dusenberry, Audrey Freeborn, Jasmine Chacon, June Thomas, Madison Williamson and Madelynn Moore along with freshmen Eli Bass, Ella Kate Sevier, Hannah McMahan, Skylee Simpson, Aleira Webber, Nikki Plaxico, Kennedy Heathcock and manager Lanie Nelson.  The team is coached by Maggie Meadows and Kacyn Haney.

More in News

Upcoming Events

No Upcoming Events