Connect with us


Buffaloes Collect Postseason Football Awards – Presented by Patriot CDJR

With an undefeated 7-0 record in District 5A-3 en route to reaching the Class 5A state championship game, the McAlester Buffaloes have dominated the All-District honors.

Junior running back Erik McCarty was named the Most Valuable player while senior linebacker Chase Faber earned Defensive Player of the Year honors in a vote of coaches. Among the other honors, senior Cale Prather was named Tight End of the Year while senior teammate Avion Simon was named Offensive Lineman of the Year.

Junior Garrett Shumway earned the Defensive Lineman of the Year honors while Kilian Barnes was voted as the district’s Cornerback of the Year and Kobe Clark received Kicker of the Year recognition. The Purple Heart Award, given to an injured but key performer, was given to Gage Mullins while head coach Forrest Mazey, who completed his third season at McAlester, was chosen as Coach of the Year. 

Buffaloes named to the first team 5A-3 All-District offense include quarterback Trent Boatright and wide receiver Lleyton Bass. Named to the first team 5A-3 All-District defense were defensive lineman Jaxxin Smith and defensive back Greg Quintana. Five other Buffaloes were named to the second team All-District offensive unit including running back Dakota Moton, linemen Kade Hemmerling, Sean Woods and Charles Jones along with tight end Racer Harkins. Also named to the second team were linebacker Zac Friestad and special teams member Caden Lesnau.

McAlester in reaching the Class 5A state finals with a 13-1 established a new school record for most wins in a single season.

Erik McCarty (5)

More in News

Upcoming Events

No Upcoming Events